100% Commitment Is Easier Than 98%

I agree that the topic is pretty enticing. We always want to commit 100% to all our daily responsibilities. But at the same time, we fail and we fail very badly. And when we fail, it’s personal because we generally don’t put effort into things we care little about. This blog is intended to provide you some new thoughts about what you want to commit and how you want to pursue it in order to get success. Before I start, please note that I am not 100% perfect in this art either but I have been training myself for months and hence, I am certainly better than the average.

If you try to tackle everything wrong in your life at once, you’ll quickly burn out and quit. It’s happened to me many times before. Life is super busy. You don’t have time to focus on a thousand different areas of your life to change. That’s exhausting, and frankly, not helpful.

“small changes or habits that people introduce into their routines that unintentionally carry over into other aspects of their lives.” – Charles Duhigg in his book ‘The Power of Habit’

I used to be terrible at working out regularly. But then I forced myself to go to the gym just for 2 days every week (for about 30 mins). Eventually I started to feel confident about it and ended up hiring a trainer. He helped me to boost my confidence even higher. Now, I lift weights regularly and I am more cautious about what I eat or drink. I feel less stressed and more control on my life. All because I started exercising twice per week.

Now, let me talk about the term ‘Absteiner’. An abstainer is someone who is generally all or nothing. Hence, when an abstainer falls off the wagon, they crash and burn. However, when they focus on just one thing at a time, and succeed at that, they feel more in-control of their lives and when an abstainer feels in-control, there is nothing that can stop them. They become fiercely committed to what they’re doing and experience a sense of limitless power. As an abstainer, this feeling only comes after you’ve kept your own commitments. Does that sound like you? If yes, you will be glad to read this post.

As You Succeed, Your Vision For Your Life Will Expand

A natural consequence of success is an increased vision for what you can do. This is where abstainers often fail. Because we’re are highly passionate about what we do, we often start at a sprint. But long-term commitments are marathons, and so abstainers often burn out.

*Note: This happens to me almost every time I set out on a new grand plan. I get so pumped up and excited that I try going a million miles an hour, only to find I’ve given up later that day.

But I have worked on it (and still working) and have made myself better. The goal of this blog is to discuss those tactics that have helped me to get better at the craft.

Feel It

Feeling good is so important for passionate people like us. As our own toughest critic, we often ride a roller coaster of emotions. However, as we succeed at our one thing, and our vision for our lives expand, we will naturally feel amazing.

When you feel amazing, you show up to life differently, don’t you? You are more present and attentive to others needs. You’re less focused on your own problems. You’re less worried about the results and worried more about being genuine. Commit to this one thing and life will feel great.

Attach yourself emotionally to the goal. Feel it inside and constantly visualize the moment of success and there is a high chance that you will be able to conquer your goal.

Gain Insane Motivation And Momentum

As stated previously, when you succeed at your goals, they generally expand. When your goals expand, a gap is created between where you are and where you want to be. This gap ignites in us a psychological process called self-regulation, which is our motivational resources management system that helps us attain our goals.

Specifically, self-regulation works in three ways.

  • Self-monitoring determines how well we are currently performing
  • Self-evaluation determines how well we are performing against our goals
  • Self-reaction determines how we think and feel against our goals. When we feel dissatisfied with our performance, self-reaction pushes us to reallocate our motivational resources

To trigger this self-regulation process, goals need to be highly specific, based on external indicators, deadline-driven, and challenging.

As you succeed in your one thing, and as your vision for your life expands, this process will commence. Thus, as your goals grow, you will naturally alter your behaviors to match your new goals. Your motivation and momentum toward huge things will surge and skyrocket.

At the end..

One of my all time favorite quotes is as follows:

“Many of us have convinced ourselves that we are able to break our own personal rules “just this once.” In our minds, we can justify these small choices. None of those things, when they first happen, feels like a life-changing decision. The marginal costs are almost always low. But each of those decisions can roll up into a much bigger picture, turning you into the kind of person you never wanted to be.” — Clayton Christensen

People are really good at self-sabotage. We consistently behave in ways that contradict our goals and ideals. This is incongruence. Hence, Clayton Christensen says 100 percent commitment is easier than 98 percent commitment. When you fully commit to something, the decision has been made. Consequently, regarding that thing, all future decisions have been made. As you stick with your 100 percent commitment, you’re life will be far easier. You won’t have to agonize over needless decisions. You’ve already decided. You’re not going to eat the cookie or that sugar drink. It’s not even a debate.

 

Published by

gradgospels

I am a Software Engineer by profession. I'm ever curious to find the latest technology in the field and put it to good use. Quite a bit of my free time goes to learn different tools and technology.I enjoy development for Linux, building/leading teams, and contributing to different open source projects. Even though I have a very wide range of interests when it comes to build software, my current focus is on Frontend development. I am thrilled to work with HTML,CSS,JS, JQuery and Ajax like concepts. I also love to read, write, travel and cook.

Leave a Reply

